Inmate Classification

Inmate classification, as soon as the person is convicted of a crime, he is sent to the level of a prison accordingly with respect to his crime. The nature of a crime determines the level of a prison, if a person committed a more violent crime; it is likely that he would be sent to a more secured level of a prison. There are four levels of prisons, minimum, medium, close and maximum. However, I would like to just discuss minimum and medium level. Minimum – Minimum security prison consists of dormitories that are not very secured, and are monitored by correctional officers regularly.

As they used to hold people who committed a crime that wasn’t as violent such as driving drunk or other crimes of such nature, there are no watch towers surrounding minimum security prisons, and they usually have a single fence perimeter. The movement of inmates isn’t controlled, and they’re free to move within the prison without any problem. The inmates in minimum security prisoners are usually asked to do community based work such as road maintenance or working for a civilian employee etc.

Medium – Medium security prisons are not as secured, but securer than minimum security prisons. They usually consist of dormitories that are capable of holding around forty-nine to fifty inmates. Unlike minimum security prisons, inmates are not allowed to move as freely, and are supervised almost all of the time. At night each dormitory is locked, and supervised by a correctional officer who monitors every movement. Medium security prisons are also covered by double fenced perimeters, and usually have watch towers, so that no one escapes.

We will write a custom essay sample on
Inmate Classification
or any similar topic only for you
Order now

Custom writing services


Hi there, would you like to get such a paper? How about receiving a customized one? Check it out